Why Trifler?

01/21/2010

Merriam-Webster defines the word as:

Main Entry: trifle Function: verb Inflected Form(s): tri·fled; tri·fling \-f(ə-)liŋ\

Etymology: Middle English truflen, triflen, from Anglo-French trufler to trick, talk nonsense Date: 14th century intransitive verb

1 a : to talk in a jesting or mocking manner or with intent to delude or mislead

b : to treat someone or something as unimportant

2 : to handle something idly transitive verb : to spend or waste in trifling or on trifles — tri·fler \-f(ə-)lər\ noun

synonyms trifle, toy, dally, flirt, coquet mean to deal with or act toward without serious purpose. trifle may imply playfulness, unconcern, indulgent contempt

From http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/trifler

I got the nick from these songs:

Now My Eyes Are Open And I Can See
You Were Devious And Shady
Only
Trifling With Me

-You Had Your Chance

Mariah Carey, Charmbracelet, 2002

You triflin’, good for nothing type of brother
Silly me, why haven’t I found another?
A baller, when times get hard
I need someone to help me out”

-Bills, Bills, Bills

Destiny’s Child, The Writing’s On The Wall, 1999

I used to toy with people’s emotions until everything came back to me. Now, I learned my lesson.

Leave a Reply

